Your 2014 Board of Supervisors

County of San Luis Obispo's 2014 Board of Supervisors.

A five-member Board of Supervisors serves as the County’s legislative body, setting policies and priorities to best serve the needs of the community. Supervisors are elected by districts of approximately equal population to overlapping four-year terms. The five supervisory districts in the County include the following cities (in italic) and communities:

District 1: Adelaide, Cholame, Lake Nacimiento, Oak Shores, Paso Robles, San Miguel, Shandon, Templeton, Whitley Gardens

District 2: Baywood Park, California Men’s Colony, Cal Poly State University (portion), Cambria, Cayucos, Cuesta-by-the-Sea, Cuesta College, Harmony, Los Osos, Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo (portion), San Simeon

District 3: Avila Beach, Country Club, Edna-Los Ranchos, Edna Valley (portion), Grover Beach, Pismo Beach, Rolling Hills Estate, San Luis Obispo (portion), Shell Beach, Squire Canyon, Sunset Palisades

District 4: Arroyo Grande, Black Lake Canyon, Callendar-Garrett, Cuyama, Edna Valley (portion), Halcyon, Huasna-Lopez, Los Berros, Nipomo, Nipomo Mesa, Oceano, Palo Mesa

District 5: Atascadero, Cal Poly State University (portion), California Valley, Creston, Garden Farms, Pozo, San Luis Obispo (portion), Santa Margarita

2014 Staff Leadership

Not only were the people of San Luis Obispo County represented by an elected Board of Supervisors in 2014, but they were also served by leaders among County employees. Those leaders include:

Agricultural Commissioner/Sealer of Weights & Measures
Marty Settevendemie

Airports Director
Kevin Bumen
Animal Services Division Manager
Eric Anderson
Tom Bordonaro
Auditor-Controller/Treasurer/Tax Collector/Public Administrator
James P. Erb
Behavioral Health Adminsitrator
Anne Robin, LMFT
Chief Probation Officer
Jim Salio
Child Support Services Director
Phil Lowe / Julie Paik
Julie Rodewald / Tommy Gong

County Administrative Officer
Dan Buckshi

County Counsel
Rita L. Neal

County Fire
Robert Lewin

District Attorney
Gerry Shea / Dan Dow

Farm Advisor
Mary Bianchi
General Services Interim Director
Machelle Vieux
Health Agency Director
Jeff Hamm
Human Resources Director
Tami Douglas-Schatz
Information Technology Interim Director
Daniel Milei
Library Director
Chris Barnickel
Parks Interim Director
Curtis Black
Planning and Building Director
James Bergman
Public Health Officer
Penny Borenstein
Public Works Director
Paavo Ogren / Wade Horton

Ian Parkinson

Social Services Director
Lee Collins

Veterans Service Officer
Dana Cummings

Learn more at